What's new

Seperate Components or HT PC ?? (1 Viewer)

DanielH

Auditioning
Just wondering which would offer better quality sound, video, and options ? Any input would be appriciated

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
What are you trying to do?

Certainly an HTPC provides probably the best bang for the buck in most situations w/regard to video.

Biff

Agent
Daniel,

I'm new here and making new discoveries every day, but I was around for the advent of Surround Sound in the home and last year put together an "under $20,000" home theatre system that I feel is just terrific BUT I've also recently installed a bedroom "system" with a great, but not expensive HDTV and a "Home Theater in a Box" - the whole thing under $2,000 and the HT in a Box at $600. So, although a newbie here, I feel qualified - at least - to give you an opinion.

First - do you have a budget? Second - how large is the room in which you'll be using the equipment? Third - do you have or do you expect to have an HD monitor and so you have a cable or satellite service that offers HDTV (and do you wish to receive over-the-air HDTV broadcasts?

Just some questions to ask yourself before reading what is definitely a humble opinion.

(And I'm going to assume that you wouldn't want to plunk down more than $10,000 so I'm not even going to get into the high-end stuff where you could easily spend $100,000.)