Separates?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Melville_H, Dec 29, 2001.

1. Melville_H

Melville_H Auditioning

Hi

I am making the transition in HT from PL to DD/DTS. I was considering getting a Denon 3802, but I am noticing some HT fanatics are using receivers as pre/pro and a seperate 5 ch amp. My idea is can I buy a lower model receiver, Denon 2802 or lower, and get a Rotel 1095 and be very pleased? I’m new at this so bare with me. How would I connect an SVS to this setup? Also with this setup would I gain an upper hand so I could keep my Polk RT 20 speaker system (wanted to change/upgrade) and not purchase a set of Paradigm Monitor 7v2 system or Studio 60 system? (cant decide). I have a PL receiver so I have to get a DD/DTS PLII receiver. Any advice would be great. You could also recommend another amp and list system cables. Oh, what does it mean to calibrate your system? Thanks in advance.

2. Derrick G

Derrick G Stunt Coordinator

Melville_H,

I'm not that familiar with the Denon line, but usually as you step down in models you lose more features than just amplification. If the 2802 has the same features as the 3802, but just has less power, then the 2802-Rotel combo would be a whole lot better. Most high quality dedicated amps will blow away the amps built into receivers except for the higher line (expensive) receivers. The only downfall is that you won't ever hear the full potential of the Rotel until you get higher quality processing in front of it. But the amp is a good place to start upgrading. Processors get new features and different formats just about every year it seems. A dedicated amp you buy now will still be putting out good, clean power five years from now. Whereas a five year old receiver is probably way behind in the feature/format department. In other words, get the amp now and upgrade to a seperate pre/pro when you can.