What's new

Semi-beginner here - need some advice on which DVD player to get (1 Viewer)

Joe Tapper

Auditioning
I'm looking for a DVD player for ~$200. I don't really need progressive scan, so I have been looking at the Sony DVP-NS400D and the Panasonic DVD-RA60. Right now I'm leaning towards the Sony. What are everyone's opinions on these? Are they any good? Are there any others for me to look at as well?

Thank you very much for any help. It is appreciated

Ten_Smith

Stunt Coordinator
seems like most people in this price range think of pannys or toshibas. Unless they are into tweaking and being 'region free' then they start talking about apex and daewoo. anyhow check out the Audio/Video Sources section of the forum that's where you'll get the answers to this sort of question. might want to do a search, as there are plenty of past threads on this topic.

Marc Rochkind

Second Unit
This price range represents the center of the market right now, with many, many choices. I'd start by making a list of features, mainly disc formats and media types. For formats, consider DVD-Audio, DVD-Video, SACD, VCD, SVCD, MP3, and Audio CD. For media types, consider pressed CD (they all play them), pressed DVD-Video (they all play them), CD-R, CD-RW, SACD, and the various types of home-made DVDs, if that matters to you.

For each feature, mark it as "essential," "desirable," or "will never use."

Once you have this list, the choices will be narrowed considerably.

Then, I would stick to the major manufacturers (e.g., Sony, Samsung, Toshiba, Panasonic), as they all have players in this range.

Now your list should have only a half-dozen or so models on it. At that point, just go for the best price.

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
i've got a sony dvd player and really like it. from what i've read, sony's do a real good job of what (i think) is called "in letterboxing" - provides for a nice picture.