Sell me on the Denon AVR-3806.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Richard Travale, Feb 9, 2006.

  1. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    I am going to be buying a new receiver in the next month or so. I have narrowed it down to two Denons, the 3805 or the 3806.
    I can get the 3805 at coscto.ca for $1099CAD and I can get the 3806 for $1500CAD.

    Tell me why the 3806 is $400CAD better than the 3805.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Jongyoon Lee

    Jongyoon Lee Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    3805 vs 3806

    If none of the missing features of 3805 jumps out on you, you probably don't need 3806.
     
  3. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    So I guess the only real differences are the 10 extra watt/channel, the HDMI switching/conversion and the included mic for the auto-eq.

    The power difference is negligible. The mic is cool because that would cost me another $100CAD. Plus the HDMI is a good futureproofing tool.



    Thanks for that link. [​IMG]
     
  4. Steve_Blazer

    Steve_Blazer Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Audyssey MultiEQ ...Built in XM satellite receiver.
    Also individual speakers level & delay control, pure direct mode for stereo & 'widescreen mode' for watching movies.

    HDMI switching works ok as long as you dont want to switch cable box signals - alot of them didnt implement HDCP correctly.


    Long story .. a search will fill in the details.

    The conversion from analog to HDMI is nice as it means only 1 cable to the TV.

    I have a 3806 and its worth every penny!

    [​IMG]
     
  5. JediFonger

    JediFonger Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    YiFeng You
    3806 it is =). if you don't have HDMI, the 3806 doesn't downconvert HDMI to component like the 4806.
     
  6. Nathan_R

    Nathan_R Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2000
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a 3806 and think it's a great machine, except for its HDMI switching. Contrary to popular belief, no one's sure who's at fault for the HDMI switching issues. Some say it's the cable box manufacturers at fault, but I (and several other folks) believe its the a/v receiver manufacturers who have faulty HDCP handshake implementations. From what we've gathered on various forums, you're ok if you only switch dvd players and directv/dish HDMI receivers. The 3806 will not pass the HDMI signal from cable boxes or d-vhs decks. I would have placed the fault on Motorola for my issue, if it weren't for the fact that the 3806 will not pass my HDCP-compliant signal from my JVC 5u. I bought an external HDCP-compliant HDMI switch for $125 and my switching issues went away.

    With that said, there are currently no receivers that can switch HDMI from Motorola cable boxes, and the Denon has a ton of other great features at a respectable price point.
     
  7. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale


    Oh, that does make a difference because I am using the Shaw(motorola) 6208.
     
  8. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    Actually no,it doesn't make a difference seeing as the TV I am going to buy (the Sony KDSR50XBR1) has two HDMI inputs.

    I think that I will go ahead and get the 3806. Thanks for the input fellas.
     
  9. MikeNg

    MikeNg Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good point on the HDMI switching. I had the same problem with it also, which was disappointing. I also tried to get it to switch an HDMI feed from an upscaling DVD player, which it didn't like.

    If you're going direct to the TV, then I say go for it.
     
  10. JediFonger

    JediFonger Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    YiFeng You
    doesn't the 3806 and upwards have ethernet and therefore firmware upgrade capabilities? JUST in case there's a problem with the receiver itself.

    but yes, i have heard of those issues with HDCP handshake issues. the problem doesn't lie in the HDMI specs 1.1 or 1.2 (SACD passthrough). i think the problem lies in HDCP. thus, if there is an organization you want to complain to, it's HDCP. they're the ones that should be fixing the issue on the Cable box end, NOT Motorola, NOT Denon, NOT HDMI. just FYI =). Motorola just makes the chip the powers the cable box according to CAD prints. Denon does the same, HDMI is just a spec for optical wires that pass information. HDCP is the software that handles copyright protection. the more we don't care about consumer rights, the less we're going to be in control of stuff we buy.
     
  11. Scott_Bry

    Scott_Bry Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm waiting for the AVR-2807. Hoe it is worth it.

    see www . cnet . com/4831-11405_1-6413272 . html
     
  12. JediFonger

    JediFonger Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    YiFeng You
    thx for bringing that to my attention =). looks very good. very kewl =). i wonder if it downscales from component -> S-Video.
     
  13. Kevin T

    Kevin T Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you don't buy the 3806, i'll come by your house and beat you in the face with a tire iron.

    kevin t
     
  14. Nathan_R

    Nathan_R Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2000
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    In after left-field death threat.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. JediFonger

    JediFonger Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    YiFeng You
    does anyone know if either 3806 or 2807 downscale from component to S-Video? just wondering cause of the way my HTPC is setup.
     
  16. MikeNg

    MikeNg Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YiFeng, I think it's the way your HTPC is set up.

    Any time you 'dumb down' a signal, it only gets worse. S-vid and composite are going the way of the dinosaur (a long, slow, and arduous death).

    Maybe start another thread and we can help diagnose the problem?

    Mike
     
  17. JediFonger

    JediFonger Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    YiFeng You
    oh there's no prob mike. thx for offerin' to help.

    i know it's old tech, but it's more for convenience sake than anything else. the component connections i have are all for the front projector. i'd hate to fire up the FP and waste its bulb just to watch 1/2 hour of news. that's all. so if these newer a/v receiverse downscale, all i need is one component cable from cable set top box to a/v receiver and i'm allset, no more s-video. =). just trying to conserve cable spac.e
     

Share This Page