Seeking quality stereo AND 6.1 surround

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Vernon_M, Mar 22, 2004.

1. Vernon_M

Vernon_M Auditioning

A relative newbie here so your patience and wisdom is appreciated. I've recently "upgraded" from a circa 1994 A/V receiver (Pioneer VSX-53 (pro logic surround)) to an Onkyo tx-sr501 with 6.1 surround. Movies sound great but I've lost a good deal of quality when listening to 2 ch stereo. There seems to be a gap in the high bass/low mid region and a general lack of clarity that I used to get with the Pioneer. The Onkyo's pro logic II is even worse. So I have three questions:
    (1) Will I have to go with more wattage or a more expensive unit and/or an anyone recommend a receiver that will give me the 6.1 surround AND the stereo quality that I'm looking for? Or does the fix lie elsewhere?
    (2) How can I run two sets of NHT speakers (sub zero and 1.1 A111 as A and B respectively) and use the rear as my B speakers for cd stereo playback. (also - my sub is an older Polk PSW-200 subwoofer).
    (3) Years ago I stumbled upon a way to get certain frequencies (mostly guitar) highlighted through a single speaker by hooking it up to the right/left positive posts. Surely I can't be the only one who has come across this. I love the sound it brings out but am I risking damage to any of my equipment.

Thanks for any and all advice

2. PhilBoy

PhilBoy Second Unit

Are you using any DSP (sound processing) or playing stereo as stereo ?

Some DSP's will alter the 2 channel mix substantially.

To maintain accuracy, I would suggest running stereo through your 2 front main speakers.

3. Vernon_M

Vernon_M Auditioning

I'm running the stereo as "stereo" on the Onkyo but it pales in comparison to my old Pioneer.
    Also do you know if there is a way to have my second pair of speakers double as my rears when playing 5.1?

4. Rich Malloy

Rich Malloy Producer