searching for new PC

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Eric Samonte, Nov 19, 2001.

1. Eric Samonte

Eric Samonte Screenwriter

I'm now in "search mode" for a new PC and have approximately $1500 to spend. Dell seems to have good deals lately. Can you guys chime in as to what you'd recommend? Like other PC companies, Intel or AMD..or am I better off assembling one myself?

As for what I'm going to use it for, it'll be an all around box, gaming, some low-tech vid editing, entry level HTPC maybe. I'd like at least a 19" monitor with it though.

2. PhilM

PhilM Extra

with 1500 bucks head over to a local computer show or hit up www.pricewatch.com. don't buy from big companys, you end up paying upwards of 1,000 dollars more. and thats just for "service". even if your a complete newbie to building your own PC, a little internet research, and a couple good forums (this one, and i personlly like the forums on www.amdmb.com) are all you really need to be the next computer geek. people love to help people, its theraputic.

3. TheoGB

TheoGB Screenwriter

Yeah, I believe in self-build PCs. Not necessarily due to cheapness (here in the UK self-build can be slightly more expensive sometimes) but because the companies tend to have one graphics/sound/etc. manufacturer for all items.

So you might see the specs you want except the graphics card is ATI when you wanted nVidia or whatever.

Also I tend to stick with the Wintel alliance simply to make sure I don't have any problems. I am overclocking my PIII 600 100FSB to 800 133FSB at the moment with no ill effects as yet, too.

4. John_Bonner

John_Bonner Supporting Actor

I biult my first computer in August (AMD 1.2Ghz) and would recommend it to anyone. It's a great way to learn about the machine and you can put in parts you've researched and you'll get just what you want, no more no less. I spent about $750 and put together a very nice machine (w/o monitor).

5. Glenn Overholt

Glenn Overholt Producer