Search for the Best Driver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Allen Ross, Oct 1, 2002.

1. Allen Ross

Allen Ross Supporting Actor

Okay I am new to this entire DIY world, only recently have I become really fired up about bulding some kick ass speakers and I have been researching, poking around here and other places, looking for sub drivers, amps, different enclosures, and such.

What I have come to belive in is that a driver that is efficent it going to be good, I have seen those Adire Shiva and Tempest and they only have a SPL of around 87 and 89 respectivly, I have also seen the Dayton 15 DVC with an SPL of 94.4, but the voice coil is rather small 2" in diameter.

I have heard great things from the tempest and the shiva, but what I am curious about is are there any better Divers out there? Somthing with a better SPL 94+, and a bigger voice coil.

I know this might have been covered in other threads, but with newer stuff coming out, the Stryke AV12-15, but what are my other options, I want as much information to compare to find the best one.

Oh and BTW I am looking to put this in a ported 3-5 ft^3 box and I want the tightest bass I can get, I want that driver to snap back into position after shaking the room.

Thanks In Advance

2. is that 94+ at 2.83V or 1w1m?

If the budget can take it, you may want to look into the Aura sound drivers (MR's, Elon, 1808, seismic, NC-leviathan)

3. Dustin B

Dustin B Producer

If you want sensivity, the best way to get it is with a horn. Folded basshorns can get sensitivity up well over 100dB/W/m. But they do have to be rather large.

The Tempest and Dayton 15" really need enclosures bigger than 5ft^3 when used ported. The other problem is fitting sufficient porting in a 5ft^3 or smaller enclosure to handle a really sensitive, high output driver. Keep in mind that in large ported boxes 250W is oodles of power for either of these drivers.