Screen Size Throw Distance?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by LeonDES, May 10, 2005.

1. LeonDES

LeonDES Extra

Hi all,

I am new to the home theater scene and have been looking all over for some good advice and tips. It looks like I have found the place.

I am planning to setup a projector in a room that is approximately 10 feet wide x 12 feet long. There is no windows in this room so lighting is not an issues.
    What would be the optimal size of the screen for this size of a room(16:9 aspect ratio).

Does anyone have any tips or suggestions on wich projectors/screens would be best suited for this size of a room with a balance of $5,000USD.

Thanks in advance.

Leon

2. John S

John S Producer

Nice budget... I am not qualified in Projos of that high of an end to answer.

With that nice of a projector, I think you will only be limited by what you feel is to big. I'm thinking you gotta hit the 100" mark at least.

3. Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs Executive Producer

And with that question, the thread gets moved to Display Devices.

Welcome to Home Theater Forum, Leon. FYI, only general discussion at the beginner level is permitted for the Basics area. For specific model recommendations, please ask your questions in the appropriate hardware-related area.

Best of luck.

4. LeonDES

LeonDES Extra

Hi John,

Would 100" be too big and cause the lines or pixelation to occur with the room being only 12 feet long? The projector most likley would take up a foot of that so I am thinking it will be ceiling mounted at about 10 feet from the screen.

I was thinking that the screen size would most likely be around 72" not sure though as I am a noob to all this. 100" would be great!!...

anyone else with some advice or tips??

Thanks,

Leon

P.S. sorry bout the location of my post Jack, I will make sure to post in the correct forum next time.

5. John S

John S Producer

On a $5000 projo??? You can generall be as close as you want without any fears of SDE and/or pixelation.