Scanning Lines & Resolution

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by SeanA, Mar 3, 2003.

1. SeanA

SeanA Second Unit

O.K.... I am a newbie here, having just purchased my first widescreen HDTV (Sony KV-34XBR800). I am still frustrated in trying to understand some of the real basics of HDTV. I have read numerous topics now about scanning lines and horizontal vs. vertical resolution, but I still don't understand what the relation is between scan lines and lines of resolution (if any). For instance, the specs for a particular 30" widescreen Samsung HDTV state that it has 1080i vertical scanning lines (native mode) but only 800 lines of horizontal resolution. I don't understand, even after reading the FAQ's on similar topics. Can someone help me through this and also answer the following:

1) Are "scan lines" in the vertical or horizontal orientation, or no orientation at all ? (When I think of scanning, I imagine lines being "refreshed" over a certain increment of time and in a wave either up/down or across the screen horizontally).

2) Is "vertical" resolution the # of vertical or the # of horizontal lines, and vice-versa ?

3) Will the number of horizontal resolution lines and the # of vertical resolution lines be related in terms of the screen format ? For instance, a 4:3 TV with 1080 vertical lines should have 810 horizontal lines [ 1080 x (3/4) ] ?

4) Must an HDTV have a minimum of 1080 lines of either vertical or horizontal resolution to truly be HDTV ?

I think you can see how confused I am ?!?! [​IMG]

2. Allan Jayne

Allan Jayne Cinematographer

1. Scan lines go in the horizontal direction.

2. Vertical resolution is the number of dots or stacked parallel line segments in a column the system can resolve, horizontal resolution is the number of dots or upright parallel line segments in a row the system can resolve.