What's new

Saw Spider-Man on the big screen tonight… in pan-and-scan! (1 Viewer)

cafink

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Carl Fink
Tulane University New Orleans, just a short drive from my home, frequently shows movies, both new and old, in an auditorium on campus for just $3. For several years I've attended them constantly.

This year, they got a new digital projector, and started showing movies from DVDs. The result has been less than stellar. After a particularly disastrous show of SPIDER-MAN tonight, I was inclined to send an e-mail. Here it is, it describes the situation pretty thouroughly. I've never considered myself much of a writer but I hope it gets the point across.

Hello to whomever might be reading this. I am not sure to whom this message should be addressed, but I was able to find no other e-mail address or contact information at the TUCP web page, so I hope that this e-mail gets directed to the appropriate party.

I am a student next door at Loyola. I am studying computer science but consider myself something of a minor film buff and all-around movie fan. For several years now I have been frequently attending the movies shown at McAlister Auditorium. It is a real joy for me to be able to see recent hits for a very reasonable price and even more so to be able to catch some classic favorites on the big screen. My significant other and I even shared our first kiss at one of your movies back in 1999.

I am very sorry to say, however, that my latest experiences have been quite disappointing. I caught FIGHT CLUB last Friday night. I was rather surprised to see the familiar "DVD" logo onscreen before the feature. I was happy about this. A DVD-sourced presentation would be free from the print wear, dirt, and damage that plague film.