What's new

Saurav and other amp experts... (1 Viewer)

Mark Austin

Supporting Actor
Could you read page three, and page eight, and let me know what you think of what is being said there? I have owned this amp for 5 months now, and love the sound, as it sounds so much different than most SS amps. Does any of what they are saying make any sense, or is it mumbo jumbo? And have you heard of a floating toroidial transformer before?
Thanks in advance.:)
http://www.electrocompaniet.com/support/aw120.pdf

Saurav

Senior HTF Member
LOL!!! I'm no amp expert! In fact, one of the real experts got banned recently :)
I have owned this amp for 5 months now, and love the sound, as it sounds so much different than most SS amps.
Well, AFAIK, Electrocompaniet makes pretty good equipment. From everything I've read, the state-of-the-art SS and tube amps sound more alike than different, the days of lush 'tube sound' and harsh 'transistor sound' are pretty much behind us. So, if you like the way your amp sounds, that's great, don't worry about anything else :)

Mark Austin

Supporting Actor
You did build your own amp didn't you? You're an expert, as far as I'm concerned. Thanks for your reply. :)

Saurav

Senior HTF Member
Only modified my amps, thinking of building some soon. Built a preamp, but from a kit, so someone else designed it. Built a phono stage and a crossover and some speakers, but they were all someone else's designs. I'm hardly an expert :) Glad to be of help though.

Brad_Harper

Stunt Coordinator
What is said on page three is nothing new. Any good solid state amplifier design needs negative feedback in all three of the major amplifier stages as well as global feedback. It is the only way to truly compensate for differnces in transistor construction. Look at the schematics of a Bryston or a Pioneer and you will see feedback in all three amplifier stages.

Larry B

Screenwriter
Brad: