Satellite Receiver Decision?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Aristides, Oct 4, 2002.

1. Aristides

Aristides Agent

Okay after getting a 55" Mitsu Set (WS-55311)I have become increasingly aware of the poor quality associated with analog cable broadcasting. After looking into Digital cable I've decided to go the route of Satellite TV (DirecTV).

I have purchased two receivers and obviously one dish. However I will only need one of the receivers. I'm extremely new to this format so I'm looking for help deciding which receiver I should keep.

Here are the two I have:

1. Sony B65 with HU card
    2. Samsung SIR-S70 with HU card

Right now it seems to me that the Samsung might be a little better since it has two sets of a/v outputs. Neither of them have DD output (that's further down the line).

Are there any other benefits to one or the other I should consider?

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions!

Peace,
    Aristides

2. BrianShort

BrianShort Supporting Actor

I don't have an answer to your question, but I'm looking into DirecTV receivers as well. We will probably be getting one RCA receiver when we get our dish (that's what the local dealer sells) but I'll also need a receiver for my TV in my room, and I'd like a decent Dolby Digital capable receiver. How much do these run and where can I get one?
    Aristides: Hope you don't mind me piggybacking on your thread... [​IMG]
    P.S. I just read in another thread that RCA is junk. Should I steer clear of an RCA receiver? Another store here has Hughes receivers. I'm not sure if our very small Sears store has DirecTV or not.

3. Robert_J

Robert_J Lead Actor

Robert
    Most people here will recommend the DirecTivo if you are getting a standard def sat receiver. Since you have the 55311, you should also get an HD sat receiver. I've got both a DirecTivo and a Hughes E86 connected to my 55411.

4. David WS

David WS Stunt Coordinator