Sanyo Projector?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by BillSuneson, Apr 11, 2006.

1. BillSuneson

BillSuneson Stunt Coordinator

Hi,

I'm just getting into a projector for the first time as we have just bought a house. I've been looking for something that will give me a good picture at a decent price. I'd like to keep it under 1000.00 for the time being.

I've found a Sanyo PLV-Z1 for 499.95 which includes shipping. What does anyone think and is this projector a good deal?

Thanks,

Bill

2. Michael TLV

Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

Michael Chen
    Greetings

Depends on whether the unit is new or used.

Used ... expect to buy a new bulb for another $350 ...
    Used ... expect the polarizor plate to be gone by this time and needs replacement. ($150)

It's a 960x540 unit ... which at the time was fairly decent ... but has screen door due to pixel size ...

regards

3. Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc Producer

Jim
    Even new, I wouldn't buy it. The Z1 has/had a problem with very short bulb life. I checked into the Z1 before I bought my Infocus X1.

4. Shane Harg

Shane Harg Second Unit

Saving up another grand will have two advantages and one disadvantage.

Advantages
    1. You will be able to get a projector, which will give you the best contrast ratios, and film-like images in Hi-Def. Like the Z4, for instance.

2. Depending on how long you'll need to save, you'll be able to have your pick of the newest and most advanced projectors on the market. Like perhaps a Z5 or a Panasonic AE1000, for instance.

Disadvantages
    1. Again, depending on how long it will take you to save another grand, you'll have to wait for awhile. It will be worth it, however, I can guarantee that.

5. BillSuneson

Thanks for the replies.