What's new

Sanyo Projector? (1 Viewer)

BillSuneson

Stunt Coordinator
Hi,

I'm just getting into a projector for the first time as we have just bought a house. I've been looking for something that will give me a good picture at a decent price. I'd like to keep it under 1000.00 for the time being.

I've found a Sanyo PLV-Z1 for 499.95 which includes shipping. What does anyone think and is this projector a good deal?

Thanks,

Bill

Michael TLV

THX Video Instructor/Calibrator
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Chen
Greetings

Depends on whether the unit is new or used.

Used ... expect to buy a new bulb for another $350 ...
Used ... expect the polarizor plate to be gone by this time and needs replacement. ($150)

It's a 960x540 unit ... which at the time was fairly decent ... but has screen door due to pixel size ...

regards

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim
Even new, I wouldn't buy it. The Z1 has/had a problem with very short bulb life. I checked into the Z1 before I bought my Infocus X1.

Shane Harg

Second Unit
Saving up another grand will have two advantages and one disadvantage.

Advantages
1. You will be able to get a projector, which will give you the best contrast ratios, and film-like images in Hi-Def. Like the Z4, for instance.

2. Depending on how long you'll need to save, you'll be able to have your pick of the newest and most advanced projectors on the market. Like perhaps a Z5 or a Panasonic AE1000, for instance.

Disadvantages
1. Again, depending on how long it will take you to save another grand, you'll have to wait for awhile. It will be worth it, however, I can guarantee that.

BillSuneson

Stunt Coordinator
Thanks for the replies.