sand calculation

corona13

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
michael
completed the framing of my stage. Planning on filling the stage with sand as my subwoffers will sit on the stage.

How does one calculate the amount of sand to purchase.

I assume you must calculate the volume of each area to fill, but need some help here.

stage is 2.5 feet wide X 13.5 long with standard 16 inch oc studs. height is 3inches (used standard 2x4s)

please help! I do not want to buy too much and dont want to make two trips

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member
7.5 cubic feet should do it.

You have a (2.5 * 13.5 * .25) total area = 8.4 cu.ft.
Minus the studs (.25 * 2.5 * .125) = .078 * 11 studs total (~13.5 / 1.3 + 1) = .858

8.4 cu.ft. - .858 cu.ft. = 7.52, round it to 7.5 cu ft.

slide90

Auditioning
Real Name
kevin
I'm a bit of a novice at this. Could you explain the purpose of using sand in your platform?

BruceSpielbauer

Second Unit

If left empty, you may end up with the largest bass drum you have ever dealt with, a big empty hollow structure which reverberates horribly every time the subwoofer kicks in, and amplifies that low frequency "thoomp" to the point where it reverberates and echoes and overlaps all other sounds for an unnatural period of time after its sound should have ceased altogether. That structure will have its own frequency, and when the subwoofer kicks out that same frequency, watch out! Each framing member is also likely to have its own frequency, as well. Ditto.

Many subwoofers end up on top of that stage, or even in that stage, which can make this problem even more pronounced.

Sand is a reasonably inexpensive means of solving that problem. Some have tried just using bats of insulation, and similar tricks, but still experienced issues.

There are a few lesser reasons, as well.

-Bruce

PeterK

Supporting Actor