Samsung 850 will not play progressive over component!

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Mike*D, Oct 7, 2005.

  1. Mike*D

    Mike*D Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Our Church just got the Sammy 850, but I can not get the player to play progressive over component. The set-up menu will not change from interlaced to prog. As a matter of fact, I don't get any picture on my Mits. over component, but composit works. Anyone have a similar issue with this model and if so, what did you do to correct it?
     
  2. Jeremy Little

    Jeremy Little Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You also need to change the setting in the menu that says S-Video/Composite to Component, this will also enable you to choose progressive scan. To ensure what I said is true, when you hook up the component cables, do you get a red picture with a noisy pattern in it. If so, that is the problem.
     
  3. Mike*D

    Mike*D Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your reply, Jeremy. The problem I'm having is when I change to interlaced component in the set-up menu, the player does not send a signal to my RPTV and when I try to select progressive component/HDMI the screen goes black like it's processing the signal, but then returns, again no picture thru component. All the while The HDMI option is not available (can not highlight to select). The component input on my rptv is fine as I have been using the Denon 1600.
     
  4. DougRuss

    DougRuss Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. Mike*D

    Mike*D Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Worked like a charm, once I unplugged and re-plugged the component cables back in. Great picture on my Mits. Now I need to get a component to VGA cable to hook up the Panasonic LCD projector. Thanks!!
     
  6. DougRuss

    DougRuss Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check out one of the Forum Sponsors :
    RAM [​IMG]
     

Share This Page