What's new

Safari, Chimera, IE: The OS X Browser Battle (1 Viewer)

Patrick Larkin

Screenwriter
Anyone have any thought on the latest browsers? I've been using Chimera for about 6 months. The only time I've used IE is one site in particular that runs a Java app that won't work in Chimera.

As for speed, Chimera and Safari destroy Internet Explorer. I'm using Safari to type this now - and you know what is really cool? Right click or Ctrl-click the text box and it runs a spell check.

Popup blockers are always good.

I'm stcking with Chimera for the time being. I really love tabbed browsing now that I've tried it.

All I can say is IE is dead on the Mac platform.

Michael*K

Screenwriter
I gave up on IE long ago. I've been using Chimera pretty exclusively, but I've tried Safari the last two days. I hate that it doesn't have the tabbed interface, but it hasn't crashed on me yet. Chimera was good for a couple crashes daily. Of course, keep in mind that both browsers are beta versions. I'm sure I'll be using both on my machine, but I can't decide yet which will be the ""preferred" choice until I see a regular release of each.

Kelley_B

Senior HTF Member
I love Safari's simplicity and Speed and the ability to report any page that doesn't work back to Apple. On launch day I reported atleast 20 pages that had graphical errors, login errors, etc. Now I just got the nightly build of Chimera 0.6 and I must say its starting to rock also, but still is not at the speed of Safari.

I feel that once Safari is done I won't need another browser.

BrandonG

Agent
Great to see some fellow Mac users on the HTF. I have been using Chimera for about 4-5 months and I must say I have fallen in love with tabbed browsing. I think Safari is going to rock, having used it for several hours. As soon as Apple implements a form of tabbed browsing, and keychain support, I am jumping ship.

DonRoeber

Screenwriter
Brandon,