SACD's - Gloria Estefan and others

Discussion in 'Music' started by Wes Larkins, Apr 11, 2003.

1. Wes Larkins

Wes Larkins Stunt Coordinator

Hey

Im new to SACD, I bought my Sony unit in December and I love it I cant wait for more releases. I am a huge Gloria Estefan fan, and her new MultiChannel release of her Greatest Hits album is awesome, along with the Stereo 2-channel Alma Caribeña: Caribbean Soul.

Celine Dion's Multichannel Discs are awesome also these cd's have are so awesome. I have 2 others Jennifer Lopez On The 6 and Ricky Martin Sound Loaded on Stereo, these things put out so much sound.

I have a Bose 5.1 Home Theatre System and I replaced my old Sony DVD Player, with this DVD/SACD player that got some great reviews in Sound & Vision and Stereophile Guide To Home Theatre.

It took me a while to figure how to set up the sound, by adjusting the receiver and what not. SACD's always sounded great right from the start, but it seemed like I was getting much sound out of the back or the 2 side speakers. Well found out why, on your receiver you can adjust channel output adjustment, mine goes from -12 to 8 the output level, well I had the back speakers at the highest out put and I had the center channel at 5 when 8 is the max, so I turned it down from -2 to 0, depending on weither im listening to a multichannel or stereo I keep it from -2 to 2 (this is the center channel output) this made a HUGE difference, and it made it sound 25 times better than before cause I could hear more from the 2 front side and 2 back speakers and a louder surround sound effect.

If any of you have this problem try adjusting that it makes a huge difference

email me if u need any help ill try

thanks

2. RobBenton

RobBenton Stunt Coordinator

I thought that celine dion'a greatest hits and gloria Estefan's greatest hits both had very bad 5.1 mixes. They were nothing more then some echoey reverb in the rears that i could have done myself with dsp on my amp.

3. Wes Larkins