S-Video vs. Composite connections

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Blaine Skerry, Oct 24, 2001.

1. Blaine Skerry

Blaine Skerry Second Unit

Can someone please explain in the simplest terms possible the differences between S-video and composite connectons in terms of filtering or whatever the hell is going on. I am fairly new to the HTF forum so please go easy on me. Thanks

2. Howard Christian

Well look at the cables
    S-video uses 2 cables to transmit the video signals
    composite only uses one cable
    simple enough?
    i think the brightness and something else signals are seperated in s-video

3. Alex Yang

Alex Yang Stunt Coordinator

Blaine,
    Howard is right, the special connector (resembles PS/2 Mouse/keyboard connector) on the Svideo splits a video signal into TWO signals called Chroma - Lumina... Chroma is the COLOR signal
    Lumina is the BRIGHTNESS or CONTRAST signal
    By splitting the signal you get a much sharper picture... I'm sorry I don't know the technical reason WHY it does but hey it works!!!!
    Composite signal combines these two signals... (Standard RCA jack)
    Hope this helps....
    -Alex

4. Blaine Skerry

Thank you both for your replies. I was hoping someone could
    explain where the comb filter comes in to play, if it comes in to play at all. I was under the impression that if the S-Video output was used, the originating player's filtering system (once again, I apologise for being vague)not the TV's was used and if the composite output was used, then the TV's comb filter determined picture quality. Anyone out there who can verify this or set me straight?

5. Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

6. NickSo

NickSo Producer

Nick So
    Heres a basic explanation aboutt he three video connections:
    Think about it this way...
    The composite cable, you can see there is like one cable coming from the plug, which basically shows that ALL the video information is passed by one single wire...