What's new

S-Video vs Component (1 Viewer)

Dan Mertz

Stunt Coordinator
My TV has both S-Video input and Component video input, and my DVD player has S-Video output and Component video output. Do I need to connect the TV and DVD player using both connections or do I select one or the other? If I need to select one, which will give me better video quality?

Also, as I look to add a receiver, is it true that it must have the same connections (S-Vid or Component) as my TV and DVD? I'm new to this stuff so don't get too technical.

Thanks

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
I recommend spending some time with the HTF Beginner's Primer and FAQ (link in my signature below). Many basic questions are answered there, including the differences between component and S-video.

Also, as I look to add a receiver, is it true that it must have the same connections (S-Vid or Component) as my TV and DVD?
Only if you pass your video signals through the receiver; not everyone does. Most receivers will not convert a component to signal to S-video or vice versa. So if the signal enters the receiver as one or the other, it will leave the receiver only in that format.

M.

Drew_W

Screenwriter
Also, as I look to add a receiver, is it true that it must have the same connections (S-Vid or Component) as my TV and DVD? I'm new to this stuff so don't get too technical.
In addition to what Michael said, there is no need to pass video through a receiver unless you need it to act as a glorified switchbox. In my setups, video always goes directly to the TV, which does the switching.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Component is the way to go, unless you have a progressive scan DVD and non-HD capable TV (must use component for progressive). Whether you are doing progressive scan or not, component will give you much better color depth but no significant difference in resolution (maybe a little, depending on the cables).

Garrett Lundy

Senior HTF Member