S-Video vs Component

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Dan Mertz, Nov 15, 2003.

1. Dan Mertz

Dan Mertz Stunt Coordinator

My TV has both S-Video input and Component video input, and my DVD player has S-Video output and Component video output. Do I need to connect the TV and DVD player using both connections or do I select one or the other? If I need to select one, which will give me better video quality?

Also, as I look to add a receiver, is it true that it must have the same connections (S-Vid or Component) as my TV and DVD? I'm new to this stuff so don't get too technical.

Thanks

2. Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

I recommend spending some time with the HTF Beginner's Primer and FAQ (link in my signature below). Many basic questions are answered there, including the differences between component and S-video.

3. Drew_W

Drew_W Screenwriter

4. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    Component is the way to go, unless you have a progressive scan DVD and non-HD capable TV (must use component for progressive). Whether you are doing progressive scan or not, component will give you much better color depth but no significant difference in resolution (maybe a little, depending on the cables).

5. Garrett Lundy

Garrett Lundy Producer

Three-cable component will always give you a better picture-quality connection than S-video, but on a non HDTV it may not be a big difference.

Most receivers have many S-video inputs (as opposed to only one or two component inputs, if any), and if you plan on connecting a DVD player, satellite reciever, digital cable box, SVHS VCR, XBox, or similar component then you may wish to connect everything with S-video connectors for a simpler "one S-video cable to TV" hookup, and not have to bother switching your televisions inputs depending what you want to watch.

6. Cees Alons

Cees Alons Moderator

Cees Alons
    Welcome to the forum, Dan,