S-video to composite switching

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ryan Leemhuis, Nov 20, 2002.

  1. Ryan Leemhuis

    Ryan Leemhuis Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the Kenwood HTB-505 can you hook a DVD player up with a S-Video cable and send the picture to the TV with a composite?
     
  2. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    440
    Real Name:
    Alfie
    Nope, the cable connections must be the same for the whole video path to the TV. S to S or Composite to Composite.

    Alfer
     
  3. Jason_Schwefel

    Jason_Schwefel Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    What I did is I bought some S-Video --> Composite adaptors and used them where I only had composite i.e. VCR. I have the better pic of S-Vid on everything except the VCR, and can still use the VCR to record my DVDs and do all the switcing throught he receiver.
     
  4. Jason_Schwefel

    Jason_Schwefel Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Part No, yes I do.

    Radio Shack #: 15-1238

    Note: They are expensive, $20.00, but I only needed one, as I already had one.
     
  5. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    440
    Real Name:
    Alfie
     
  6. Jason_Schwefel

    Jason_Schwefel Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, i have an apex ad-1000 that i upgraded the firmware on, and made my own custom background image on. did it with a cd-r, no less
     
  7. PederB

    PederB Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can also buy Ultralink's Composite to S-video cable
    [​IMG]
    1m retails for $29.95 and has only 0.5 db loss.Ultralink Cables
     
  8. Ryan Leemhuis

    Ryan Leemhuis Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. Jason_Schwefel

    Jason_Schwefel Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The reason you cannot reliably copy a DVD is because of MacroVision. In simple terms, when playing the DVD there is a signal that is applied that is neither audible or visible, when wathcing on the TV. VCRs however have circuitry in them that will 'recognize' this signal and cause the crappy image.

    There are a few ways to avaoid this. You can buy signal enhancer, for copying videos. They are designed for old home movies that you want to tranfer to tape/computer/dvd/whatever. This produces *accdeptable* (used loosely) results Also, if you happen to have an old, and I do mean OLD VCR that does not have the MacroVision circuitry, you could use that.

    The other option is to disable MacroVison on the video source. Most DVD players will either accept a "mod-chip" or allow you to reflash the firmware to turn MacroVision off. Doing either of these things WILL void your warenty, and can possibly render your DVD playing non-function.
     
  10. Ted Drain

    Ted Drain Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    The cheapest I've seen is at Parts Express. Check out part numbers 180-140 (Female S-Video->Male RCA) and 180-141 (Female RCA->Male S-Video). Both are $5.25 and work fine.
    http://www.partsexpress.com
    Ted
     

Share This Page