s-Video Out To TV

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by AbelM, Dec 31, 2001.

  1. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, here is my question:

    I have a lot of S-Video cables *PS2, XBOX, Digital Cable* yet only on on my tv. Now I have S-Video on my reciever, but when I plug all of these into the reciever, then have my monitor out wiht S-Video to the TV, wouldn't that make every source "to be played" on one channel? (i.e. My S-Video IN on my tv is called Video1) Doesn't this kinda suck? I mean if you wanted to pause a game and switch to see if there is a good movie on, you can't right?
     
  2. Joe Coccimiglio

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi AbelM, I have a similar problem with my set up. I hook up s-video from my DVD and T.V. and lose my picture, but great sound. If I unplug my S-video from the T.V. I get the picture back but no sound. The only way I can get sound is if I change my input signal to analog but the sound is not the same. I know this doesn't answer you questions but maybe someone can shed some light on this?[​IMG]
     
  3. Ken Seeber

    Ken Seeber Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 1999
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    2
    Actually, just the opposite is the case. Everything you could want to watch is connected through one connection to your TV, so you just switch what source you want to watch on your receiver.

    Let's use the scenario you posted above. You're playing a video game and want to pause to see if there is a movie on. Pause the game, then switch your receiver from the video game input to the cable box input. You'll now be watching (and listening to) digital cable.

    This is the whole point of video switching. It simplifies the connections.
     
  4. Jim_Stu

    Jim_Stu Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    AbelM,

    Ken is right. Even if you have a non S-Video device,

    like a VCR, convert it to S-video. In a few short years it

    may all be component video, but for now, S-video rules..

    JRS
     
  5. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is it better to have everything hooked up through your reciever? [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  6. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm, well anyone else...
     
  7. Ken Seeber

    Ken Seeber Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 1999
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think I made it pretty clear in my post above. Using your receiver for video switching will simplify connections and make it easier for you to switch from one source to another.
     
  8. Andrew Seto

    Andrew Seto Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Joe Coccimiglio

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Ken, I don't mean to sound like a broken record, but if I hook up S-video from T.V. to receiver and another connection(s-video) from DVD to receiver I lose video from the T.V. I have tried different combinations and the T.V. has a home theater option. When this option is on the T.V. becomes a monitor and all of the other jacks on the T.V. become dead.I think I am missing something or doing something wrong.
     
  10. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good question Joe, lets see what the answer is...
     
  11. Michael Cook

    Michael Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joe, I just want to make sure I understand you correctly. When you hook everything up to the receiver, you are loosing some picture quality?? And you are running a s-video to the tv/monitor jack on the receiver?? And you are putting the TV in "home theatre mode"?
     
  12. Joe Coccimiglio

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mike,Not picture quality but the all video. I put the T.V. in "HT" mode and run one S-video cable from the T.V. to receiver and another S-video from DVD to receiver that is when I lose the picture. If I unplug S-video from T.V. and use RCA cables then picture comes back but sound is not the quality. Hope this helps.
     
  13. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you put your tv in HT Mode?
     
  14. Michael Cook

    Michael Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joe, Is it possible that the s-video wire going from your tv to the receiver is bad?? What type of Tv do you have? How many inputs does it have in the back??
     
  15. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you put your tv in HT Mode?
     
  16. Joe Coccimiglio

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    The T.V. is a Mitsubishi 36" and when I go into the menu I select home theater ON and when in this mode I don't use the input button on the T.V. but the input selector on the receiver. I can get DTS mode but to get regular cable T.V. I have to unplug the S-video cable from the back of the T.V. it is a pain in the butt.
     
  17. Michael Cook

    Michael Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joe, Is the S-video on the back of your TV Input 1?? Don't put your TV in "Home Theatre Mode". Just put your TV on Input 1 or whatever Input the s-video is hooked to. Then use your receiver to switch between DVD and TV. see if that works.
     
  18. Joe Coccimiglio

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mike, I will give it a shot. The S-video on the T.V. is an input, the reason I think this is that I can hook up my DVD directly to my T.V. all of the other ports are EXT-1,EXT-2 and Tuner out. I will let you know how it goes.
     

Share This Page