s-video/component question about denon 1603/1803

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by darren_b, Oct 22, 2002.

  1. darren_b

    darren_b Extra

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im in the final stages of demoing the denon 1803 unit. BUT i have one question.

    I will contecting my tv into the receiver via component input. Then i will be running the dvd player out through the component jacks on the receiver.

    Now, i have an xbox, and want to run the S-Video from the amplifer, can i do this? (as my tv only has s-video at front and i dont want cords running in the front)

    So basically, if im using component from tv to receiver, if i plug xbox into s-video on receiver, will this give me an s-video picture? As i dont want to use composite?

    Hope you know what im on about (can't get xbox component in aus)

    thanks
     
  2. Marc Hollins

    Marc Hollins Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also looking into denon receivers, and from what I've read elsewhere on this forum, they don't do conversions between connection types. In other words, it will not convert s-video to component. You would have to run s-video to the tv and switch the tv. I have heard of receivers converting between s-video and composite though. You could look into an external converter.
    BTW - I would highly recommend getting component cables for the x-box, it makes a big difference.

    Marc
     
  3. darren_b

    darren_b Extra

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yer thanks, i might import some component cables.

    Can anyone confirm this??????????????
     
  4. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Import component cables? Why not just pick up the HD pack??
     
  5. Lou Loomis

    Lou Loomis Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe Marc is correct.

    Put it to you this way, on the 2802, the on-screen display does not work on the component hook up. I had to add another connection from the receiver to the tv to use the OSD. If it could send the S-Video through the component, I likely wouldn't have had the problem.

    I'm sure one of the on-line companies will ship component cables to Aus, no? E&B? And you'd get to take advantage of the component abilities of the X-box (sure it's just yet another expense...)
     

Share This Page