S/PDIF ? Quick question about Digital out setting for DTS and PCM on DVD player...

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Rolando, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. Rolando

    Rolando Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Asked this question on another thread but it seems to have gone cold.

    When I got my new amp, I was so excited because my old Elite amp did not have DTS. Well imagine my dissapointment when DTS signals showed up as Dolby Pro-Logic.

    Well I figured it was the player not the amp since my daughters cheap Diamond DVD player seemed to play DTS fine.

    Since I did not have the manual for my Malata N996 anymore I decided to check the "expert" set up section in the set-up menu. under DTS I noticed I had the options in digital out of:

    1 original
    2 PCM
    3 original S/PDIF only

    well I set it to original and what do you know? My 814 all of a sudden showed DTS

    Unfortunately I had a lot of audio drop outs on different DVDs until I switched to the 3rd setting: original S/PDIF only. however I must admit I don't know what that means.

    I figured original should have worked fine. am I wrong? can anyone explain the difference between them?

    Am I in the right setting now or should it be on original and I should have the drop out looked into?

    what is S/PDIF?
     
  2. Brian L

    Brian L Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 1998
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Thats an odd one, Rolando. All the DVD players I have ever owned (Sony, Pio, Denon) give you two choices; PCM or Bitstream. I have never had a 3rd choice, thus I would not be able to guess what that is.

    S/PDIF stands for (I think) Sony/Philips Digital Interface. Now, I think I read that somewhere, but if someone chimes in and says thats B.S., I will take my lumps!

    EDIT: Looks like I was correct:

    http://whatis.techtarget.com/definit...213474,00.html

    How that equates to the setting in your Malata, I have no idea.

    But the key is that you do NOT want PCM turned on for DTS, otherwise it will be sent out as a 2CH digital signal, and decode into PL, PL II, or whatever else your AVR can do with PCM.

    How are you connected; Optical or Coax? If you have both, can you try the other?

    BGL
     
  3. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    spdif was revised some time ago. The interface is now called IEC-958, and there are some differences. Perhaps the "original" setting helps with compatibility
     
  4. Rolando

    Rolando Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    110
    using coax.

    I am curious as to why one setting would give audio drop outs and the other won't.

    I am worried the setting it is on now might not be full blown DTS. Only had a chance to see one movie in DTS, Kill Bill and I was not too impressed.

    Will test it further...
     
  5. ChristopherDAC

    ChristopherDAC Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It may have something to do with the frame rate of dts. As originally implemented on CD and LD, dts used the 44 100 samples/second, 16 bits/sample structure of CD digital audio, which is the same as the original S/PDIF spec [Redbook being the recording standard and S/PDIF the signal standard]. DVD supports a rather different sample structure, though, and it may be that [1] the DVDP output is corrupt, or [2] your amp is having trouble with the details of the encoding. Either way, forcing "original S/PDIF", which [given the other two options] may mean "repackage the raw data to conform with the S/PDIF specifications", would improve the situation.
     
  6. Rolando

    Rolando Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    110
    So in other words you think that Original would theoretically be better but my amp may not be able to decode it properly?

    Thanks so much for the input. I will leave it as that for now, maybe test it on another amp someday.
     

Share This Page