RX-V1 Owners Help

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Shaun_B, Oct 14, 2001.

  1. Shaun_B

    Shaun_B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just purchased a RX-V1, and I have a EQ I used with my old setup. I have read the manual and as I understand it I can hook the EQ up through the Main pre outs. However it says "When RCA pin plugs are connected to the PREOUT/MAIN IN output jacks for output to external amplifiers, the corresponding internal amplifiers will be muted."
    Does this mean that the power used to drive my main (Standard unpowered) speakers will be shut off?
    I don't want to use the EQ for home theater use just for music, just to have a bit more control.
    I know this is a pretty low end question, but any help will be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.
    Shaun
     
  2. Chuck Kent

    Chuck Kent Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 29, 1999
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shaun: Does your equalizer have a bypass?
    I have 2 older units that I have used at various times over the years and both have a bypass function. This would allow you to leave the unit on and able to pass a signal while in both 2 channel and multichannel modes (equalized or not.)
    ------------------
     
  3. Shaun_B

    Shaun_B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe it does, it does have a seperate "Equalizer button" on it, I will have to try that.
    So with that understanding I will only be able to run my front two speakers, while using the EQ?
    Again thanks in advance
    Shaun
     
  4. Cliff

    Cliff Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 1998
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
     

Share This Page