Running Ethernet in the walls

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by John Kilroy, Jan 5, 2003.

  1. John Kilroy

    John Kilroy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am building a house, and am running CAT5e to a few locations before the drywall goes up. The runs are about 50 feet, and about 9 feet of each run is parallel to a 120v power cable. Do power cable cables have a very big impact on performance? If so what is the effect?

    Thanks for your thoughts.
     
  2. Kevin P

    Kevin P Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd keep them away from power as much as possible. Can you run the CAT5 in an adjacent wall cavity, or on the opposite stud from the power? As long as they're a few inches apart you should be ok, but I wouldn't have the Cat5 nailed down on the same stud running parallel with the 120V power.

    KJP
     
  3. Brian Ruth

    Brian Ruth Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    John:
    Is 5e compatible with 100base Ethernet?
    If not, it might be more prudent to run the 100base Ethernet cables through the walls - probably more expensive, but likely worth the price if you think you'll have the house around for a while. You never know when that extra 10x speed will come in handy.... like maybe when you're bouncing MPEG-2 video back and forth through the house?? [​IMG]
     
  4. Wayne Bundrick

    Wayne Bundrick Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cat 5e will do 100 Mbps Ethernet and then some, no problem there.

    I'd keep it at least 12 or better yet 24 inches away from AC lines.
     
  5. John Kilroy

    John Kilroy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I stopped by the site last night, and the insulation is up! So there will be no cables moving. What's the impact on performance? Am I totally hosed or just looking at a speed degradation?
     

Share This Page