Running cables for a front projector....RG6???

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Curt Luther, Sep 18, 2003.

1. Curt Luther

Curt Luther Stunt Coordinator

I am building a dedicated home theater room in my basement and I am going to be buying a front projector. I am in the stage of running cables and finishing up my electrical work and am wondering about running RG6 for my cables. A high end audio and video store told me that I can indeed use RG6 for component and s-video. I did read Chu's post and I do appreciate the honesty, but I am still confused by alot of what was said, I am not good with all the technical terms. I just want to know if it would be acceptable to use RG6 and if it is what type. I will be going about a 25 foot run to the area where the projector will be. I was also told by the salesman to run two Cat 5 lines for possible future use, I am not sure what for though. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

2. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    RG6 will work but true component cable, or mini BNC (RGBHV) is most likely better especially if you plan on doing HDef down the road. You will have much higher bandwidth requirements and if the cable(s) you use do not have the bandwidth needed, you will notice a reduction in sharpness.

I was facing the same dilemma.

Also, are you going to run the video cabling through conduit? If you have a drop ceiling then I would suggest running the conduit up to the ceiling at least so that you can run/change the wiring in the future.

3. brucek

brucek Second Unit

Curt,

RG6 will certainly pass all the signals that you would ever want to send to a projector. Since it has a bandwidth capable for CATV it can easily pass all baseband video signals.