Run to your nearest DVD outlet and watch Lola Run!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Aaron Garman, Apr 16, 2002.

1. Aaron Garman

Aaron Garman Second Unit

Hello all. Just had the chance to view the German film Run Lola Run in my film criticism course. I must say that I was astounded. I quickly went out to buy it and watched it in full 5.1 digital sound. This film is really amazing. To those who haven't seen it, I whole heartedly reccomend it. To those who have seen it, watch it again. My final thought is to watch it in German, because the English dub is TERRIBLE! Happy viewing!

AJ Garman

2. Matt Stone

Matt Stone Lead Actor

It's a favorite of my collection. Got turned on to it soon after it's initial release because a friend watched it in his German class. Hell of a film.

3. Bruce Hedtke

Bruce Hedtke Cinematographer

Glad you enjoyed it. I've been borrowing this film out for the past two years, getting everyone I can to see it. I adore it and it made me a huge fan of Tom Tykwer and Franka Potente.

Bruce

4. Seth Paxton

Seth Paxton Lead Actor

You should then also watch "The Princess and the Warrior". Much slower than RLR but still a solid Tykwer film.

And we will have Tykwer's next film "Heaven" hitting the US this Fall, something else to look forward to.

It's just one of a numerous examples that "arty foreign films" are really just as mainstream and pop culture as American films, or at least good American films compared to good foreign films.

Sure there are some difficult views out there, but then so is Muholland Drive. But stuff like RLR, Crouching Tiger, Brotherhood of the Wolf, No Man's Land, Amorres Perros, Dinner Game, etc show us that foreign films offer a lot of the same things we expect out of good American films.

Just imagine if a language barrier had kept you from seeing Raiders of the Lost Ark, Star Wars, or The Godfather. That's the risk that US audiences run everytime they skip a quality foreign film.