What's new

RPTV Won't hold Convergence (1 Viewer)

Johnny_M

Second Unit
From what i understand this seems somewhat normal for these tvs but mine wont hold it for more than a couple days. I can spend several minutes adjusting it in the Service menu and get everything perfect, but by the next day or so its a little bit off again, not a great deal off, but enough to drive me insane. is there much i can do about this?

it seems to lose settings when its powered off for extended ammounts of time, but i also think its losing settings from switching video modes alot, dvd progressive and sat svdieo.

so im wondering, in theory if i setup my system to use video switching with my receiver.. so the tv is always on the same source.. do you think this would help?

the only problem with that is ill have to move everything to Svideo, instead of component.

any thoughts would be great, and yes i know i can have it serviced, but im a poor starving computer tech who cannot afford that today.

Johnny

Michael TLV

THX Video Instructor/Calibrator
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Chen
Greetings

How much warm up time are you giving the TV before deciding that the convergence has drifted?

Regards

Johnny_M

Second Unit
hmm, does it move after it warms up? i never thought of that. maybe im too impatient when first turning it on? how long should it take to warm up? ill try that tonight and see if the problem was just that.

Johnny

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
Also, you might try resetting it, because if things are out of alignment, and you are using overkill on the electronic controls to compensate, this will drastically reduce your stability, and increase warm-up time. Always wait at least half hour or hour before doing a thorough convergance, so things warm up fully. It is also helpful not to have a very very cold room.

The reason for resetting it would be to see how far off you are without much compensation. I left that part out... ;)

Johnny_M

Second Unit