RPTV Questions - New To This

Discussion in 'Displays' started by ZackR, Jun 16, 2003.

1. ZackR

ZackR Supporting Actor

Hi,

I am relatively new to the whole home theater thing. I want to get a new display for our living room. The couch is about 14-16 feet from where the screen will be. I have been looking at some rear projection sets at BestBuy. We were looking in the 51-57" range. Any good recommendations? I was looking at spending no more than $3,000. There are some windows in the room. We can somewhat control the light level, but not perfectly. At night though, it is PITCH black in there. I would greatly appreciate any information. This set will be almost exclusively used for DVD's. I want to get the absolute best picture quality possible for my money.

Thanks so much in advance,

Zack

2. peter_bjr

peter_bjr Auditioning

I am in the same situation. Playroom. Surround system already installed (Integra 5.3 dts, paradigm titans, atoms and 10" sub, toshiba progressive scan DVD) Need a RPTV 50-57 " and am looking at Sony 57" (for price), Pioneer Elite 53" (for flexibility) and Mitzi 51"? Diamond (as top end).

Have explored FP with InFocus X1 (thanks to this forum) but won't work in this room due to sloped ceilings and wide-eyed wife (you don't want to know).

Which of the three would you suggest? Or something completely different?

Thanks in advance.
    Nashville, TN.[​IMG]

3. Steve Schaffer

Steve Schaffer Producer

With a little light control you can easily get away with a crt based rptv.

At a 14 foot viewing distance you could actually get away with a 65 inch set, and I would not go any smaller than 57.

I sit 12 feet back from a 57 inch Sony and it's just about right. If all my viewing were dvd and HD, I could easily use a 65 inch set, but regular cable wouldn't look to good at that size.