RPTV convergence or shielding issue?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Gordon_K, Mar 10, 2005.

1. Gordon_K

Gordon_K Auditioning

Hi,
    I am a relative newbie, got all my gear based on what I have learned here, it's been great! A couple months ago, I was able to get a Panasonic 47X54 at a great price, and I've been really happy with it till a couple of days ago, when I noticed blue "outlines" around some lines on the screen, in the lower left hand corner. My L speaker (Athena B1) sits on a stand so that it's bottom is the same height as the bottom of the screen, with 6" between TV and speaker. Once I noticed the problem I moved the speaker, there was no change, but possibly the TV has aquired a charge? ON/OFF cycles over 2 days made no improvement, and I did the 16 point convergence, with only slight improvement.
    The Athenas are described as shielded, and the R speaker, tho similarly placed has caused no probs, same with the C channel, it's sitting directly on top of the set.
    What do you folks think? Could it be a shielding prob? Can I have the set degaussed? Or should I look at a service menu convergance adjustment? I think I can handle it, the instructions are good.
    Thanks for your input, I could really use it!

2. Gordon_K

Gordon_K Auditioning

I forgot to mention, the blue shadows appear in the lower left hand corner of the screen only. They are below the level of the speaker drivers, which makes me suspect the speakers are not the cause.

3. John S

John S Producer

I'd let it go for a couple of weeks with the speaker relocated. Auto degauss can be a rather odd beast when it does and doesn't do it on many displays.

Really hard to say what it could be till it is resolved.

4. Dave H

Dave H Producer