RPTV and DVI...should I???

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by AnandS, Feb 24, 2004.

1. AnandS

AnandS Agent

Hi,

Like thousands others that have come here, I am a newbie at the HT as well.

Here is what I have:

Panny Widescreen HDTV - Model# PT53TW53
    Panasonic 5-DVD player - Model# DVD-F65K - just bought
    Onkyo 6.1 HTIB - Model # HTS760

I have this connected via Component cables and have the Optical Audio connection to the receiver.

The sound is amazing. I know HTIB is frowned upon here, but my budget allowed only this.

Anyways, I have been reading here about DVD players that upconvert..for example the Samsung HD931 or the Bravo D1.

I would like to get the best possible picture out of this TV while watching DVDs.

Would you recommend upgrading to the Samsung HD931? I think my TV has DVI input(I think). I have read here conflicting reports about RPTV and DVIs. That is why the question.

Also, does anyone know if this Panny does 720p or 1080i? Which is better and any way I can control what resolution is being used?

Thanx for your help. Appreciated.

2. Dave Poehlman

Dave Poehlman Producer

Check to make sure your DVI input is HDCP compatible. I believe all the DVI based DVD players require this.

Actually, I just found your set's spec sheet and it looks like you're good to go with the HDCP.

I've heard mixed reviews on the upconverting DVD players. Some say it's not worth it while others say it's a substantial improvement. So, my advice would be to get one that has a good return policy in case you don't like it. [​IMG]

3. Andy Goldstein

Andy Goldstein Stunt Coordinator

the panny will NOT do 720. period. black screen. 1080 works fine. as for controling the resolution, that is controlled by whatever your source is sending.