routers

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Dave Morton, Jul 23, 2003.

  1. Dave Morton

    Dave Morton Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Here's my situation. I have an old apple G3 running os 8.6 that I currently use to connect to the internet with a cable modem. I just bought a dell laptop that I also want to connect to the internet. So my question is what do I need to get this done? Is it a router? Can they connect both macs and pc's? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. MikeAlletto

    MikeAlletto Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2000
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using an old apple powerbook (wallstreet), a power computing machine running linux ppc, and a windows machine running win2k. All connected to the internet via a linksys 4 port broadband router (with a cable modem as my device).
     
  3. DonRoeber

    DonRoeber Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've got my cable modem going into a Netgear WGR14 router. Attached to my router is a PowerMac G4, an old Windows 98 PC and a HP networked Inkjet printer. I've got a Dell Latitude D600, a Powerbook G3 (Pismo) and a Powerbook G4 all using the wireless part of the router (the Dell uses 802.11g, the powerbooks use 802.11b). Works great, especially for $100 at CompUSA.

    When you get your router, configure it to be a DHCP server on the local network. It'll make your life easier.
     
  4. Tommy G

    Tommy G Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We have 2 desktops and one laptop in our home. I have a linksys wireless router

    [​IMG]

    along with the 2.4 GHZ Instant Wireless Notebook Card which plugs right into the side. It takes a couple of minutes to configure with really easy instructions and then your connected. It was a breeze.
     
  5. Dave Morton

    Dave Morton Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Thanks everyone. I think the linksys wireless is the way to go.
     
  6. AlbertA

    AlbertA Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 1999
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You may want to check OfficeDepot for the DI-614+.
    It's $70 but there's two mail-in rebates saving you $40 bucks.
    So you get this for $30 dollars after rebate. It has 4 port switch integrated and 802.11b wireless.

    Here's the link:
    http://www.officedepot.com/ddSKU.do?level=SK&id=613684
     
  7. Dave Morton

    Dave Morton Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Just to update, I did get the D-link DI-614+. Connected it direct to my Mac and bought a wireless pci card for my dell laptop. Everything works great. I was able to run the software and get both machines connecting to the internet in no time.

    Only question now is "How can I get the pc to talk with the mac?" I'm using OS8.6 on the mac and xp on the pc. Can't seem to get them to recognize each other. Any suggestions?
     
  8. DonRoeber

    DonRoeber Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To share files on the Mac, you'll need a program called DAVE. It allows you to do windows filesharing.

    OS X has Windows filesharing built in.

    I don't know of any windows programs that enable AppleTalk, but I'm sure they exist.
     
  9. MikeAlletto

    MikeAlletto Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2000
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  10. JamesHl

    JamesHl Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a version of samba for os 8? I guess not.

    Oh... that's what that Dave thing is, I see.
     

Share This Page