What's new

Rough design of possible first DIY speaker... (1 Viewer)

NickSo

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Nick So
Hey, so i've been wanting to get a pair of small bookshelvesspeakers for my bedroom, and just today started toying with the idea of building my own small enclosure for the Tangband 871's. I know they won't have much bass without a sub, but it should be fairly cheap to build.

Check out my design:

The two endcaps will be wood, the tube will be a sonotube (i THINK i saw them that small at Home Depot. Their largest is 12", and i know they have smaller sizes than that. If a 6" sonotube isnt available locally, i might consider PVC pipe.

The hole on the front is where the speaker will go. Since im not very experienced with woodworking, the endcaps might just be rectangle rather than rounded at the top.

I got the length of the tube doing some simple calculations finding out the volume inside the box of the Elf1.0 speakers from creativesound.ca.

One worry i have though, is cutting the peice of wood for the plug for the endcaps that goes inside the tube. I dont have a router, what other methods could i use to cut an approx 6" circle in a peice of MDF?

Anyhow, how does my design look? Feasible?

GrahamT

Supporting Actor
Looks original, but hard to make. You can cut circles with a jigsaw but it will be hard to fit the driver in without routering the inside edge.

minhG

Stunt Coordinator
you can also cut a rough circle with a rotary saw (like a zipsaw or high speed dremel) but a router would make your life much, much easier.

maybe graham is really good with a jigsaw, but i couldn't do it!

an alternative would be to find a woodworker in your area, he'd be willing to do the cuts for you. i can't imagine it costing very much either. a good alternative if you have no tools to work with.

NickSo

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Nick So
Hmm... i suppose for the 6" plug peice i could cut roughly with a jigsaw and sand it down...