Rotel RTC-965

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Steve Weeks, Dec 29, 2003.

  1. Steve Weeks

    Steve Weeks Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Rotel RTC-965 and it is having problems with surround. I bought it used and when I got it, I was able to watch one movie in 5.1 surround. Now it will only play in pro logic. Has anyone else experienced anything similar, or have any input? I have changed absolutely nothing from the first movie that played properly. After the movie I turned everything off, then the next day I tried to watch another movie and could only get pro logic.
     
  2. Steve Weeks

    Steve Weeks Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    No one has seen anything like this, or has any ideas?
     
  3. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steve can you expand more on exactly what gear you have plugged into the Rotel and with what connections?
     
  4. Steve Weeks

    Steve Weeks Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I currently have only my DVD player (Sony DVP-NS425P) connected by S-video and an RCA for the digital audio.
     
  5. BillG

    BillG Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2000
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crazy idea number one: Check the configuration on your DVD player. Maybe it is set to not output the DD or DTS bitstreams. I don't know why it would work once and not again, but heck, it's worth double-checking.

    Crazy idea number two: Does it do this on all movies? I've seen a number of movies where the default audio is 2 channel PCM. You have to go to the DVD menu to select one of the surround audio streams.
     
  6. Steve Weeks

    Steve Weeks Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked my DVD player and it looks right. And it does it on every movie I have tried so far. I went into the audio setup for a couple of them, and selected DD 5.1, and still only got Pro-Logic.
     
  7. Jeff Bamberger

    Jeff Bamberger Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steve, you might also want to try calling Ensemble Home Theater in Nashua (not sure of where in NH you are). I shop there all the time and they are a Rotel dealer. Their staff is very knowledgeable and may be able to provide help over the phone. If not, and you are close enough to the store, you could bring the Rotel in for them to diagnose/repair, if necessary......

    By the way....did you ever play hockey for the Hartford Whalers???????
     
  8. Steve Weeks

    Steve Weeks Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never played hockey, I'm actually from Michigan
    I have been to Ensemble a few times, I could spend forever in there. I left their repair tech Joe a message last week, I am going to try to get a hold of him this week.
     

Share This Page