Rotel RSP-1066 vs. Parasound AVC-2500u

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Andrew Pratt, Dec 15, 2002.

1. Andrew Pratt

Andrew Pratt Producer

The 1066 is newer, has all the latest surround formats and comes with a 5 year warrenty...what does the Parasound offer then that Rotel doesn't?

2. Haris Ellahi

Haris Ellahi Second Unit

Which, in your opinion, is the better preamp/processor and why?

3. Haris Ellahi

Haris Ellahi Second Unit

What about sound quality? Is there a difference?

4. Guy Usher

Guy Usher Supporting Actor

The Parasound has a 10 year warranty, much higher price tag. I dont think you are talking apples to apples, two grossly different price points. I have some experience with the 2500 as a close friend has one, he has had some issues, returned it (after 3 years) for repair and upgrade, no charge and less rhan 1 week turn around, Georgia to SoCal and back. I know they have been lots of help over the phone. The 2500 is 5.1 DD, DTS, THX Ultra, I always considered it a higher level piece as I was looking at the Rotel, however I ended up with the Marantz AV9000, I prefer 5.1 , dont care to have anymore, that is what stopped me from buying the Rotel (I do use Rotels amps 985THXmk2/ 981)actually I would prefer the 976 over the 1066, no doubt it (1066) is a fine piece, I just dont like it (except for looks) You see a lot of threads in these forums about problems with the 1066. If I had a larger room I might reconsider and want the 1066.

5. DanaA

DanaA Screenwriter