Rotel RSP-1066 Video Problem...Anyone Else?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JohnKE, Aug 27, 2002.

  1. JohnKE

    JohnKE Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have discovered a very wierd problem with the 1066...EVERYTIME I switch from an audio source to an A/V source (i.e. CD to DVD) a brief, but very annoying colour/distortion is sent from the Rotel and flashes across my monitor.

    Now I have noticed that while watching the X-men DVD, the same colour distortion occurs during a 3 frame muzzle flash from the barrel of a gun. (Chapter 14, 56mins 49secs)

    This problem has been repeated on a friends 1066 (different 1066, different DVD, different player, etc.), except his produces an "orange fuzz"

    The Rotel rep has labeled this a "digital drop" and says that he will get us some support...has anyone else experienced anything like this?

    I understand that my Rotel does not have the video switching capabilities of mega-buck pre/pro's, but this is unacceptable.

    Thanks,

    John
     
  2. Bobbi D

    Bobbi D Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just tried switching on my RSX-1055, very similar to the 1066, and I have no problems switching from audio to video sources.
     
  3. JohnKE

    JohnKE Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I think the problem is native only to the 1066. Two different 1066's in two different HT's cannot be a coincidence.

    John
     
  4. JohnKE

    JohnKE Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I should add that this is particularily frustrating for me because I spent a long time (and a ton of money) on the decision to go with seperates. I expect my 1066 to exceed a comparably priced receiver in all aspects of audio/video performance. Isn't that the whole point of seperates - increased price yielding increased performance? I didn't get a 1066/1075 combo just because I had extra space in my rack.[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    John
     
  5. Jon Sheedy

    Jon Sheedy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll try and see if I can duplicate the problem at the point you describe on the X-Men DVD...sorry I can't check the other one as I'm not using a stand alone CD player.

    Gotta add though, even if I was and did expreience this brief color distortion when changing from a vid to audio source it probably wouldn't bother me much, considering that I'm simply blown away by this unit and if this is the only glitch I STILL feel like I got an exceptional piece of equipment for the price I paid.

    Jon
     
  6. Jon Sheedy

    Jon Sheedy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just thought of something...how could the 1066 possibly cause the distortion you describe on the X-Men DVD? I don't think it could....I'll try anyway though.

    Jon
     
  7. DanaA

    DanaA Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,843
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Out of curiosity, I've heard that you need to run the DVD player to the Rotel 1066 to the TV during initial setup. After this, can you reconnect it so that you run the picture directly from DVD player to TV and only the sound through the Rotel? I also wonder if anyone has experienced any degradation of picture quality when they run the video feed through the Rotel first and then on to the TV.
     
  8. JohnKE

    JohnKE Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It has happened again...Fifth Element DVD during Chapter 4, 13m23s, there is a massive white on-screen explosion, not dissimilar to the muzzle flash in X-Men. Again, the Rotel causes a distortion that can be removed only when I bypass the Rotel. This is starting to get ridiculous...I cannot live with a distortion everytime there is an on-screen explosion. I really cannot live with my wife and my guests saying "What's wrong with the DVD? What's wrong with your TV?"

    Has anyone got any suggestions???????????????
     
  9. JohnKE

    JohnKE Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  10. JohnKE

    JohnKE Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have sent an e-mail to Rotel/Equity. I'm curious what they have to say...
     
  11. DanaA

    DanaA Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,843
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm curious too. I hope you post their response. If all else fails, I guess you could use video switching for all but the DVD player. Since I haven't heard of this problem before, I'm hoping it's an anomaly. Nonetheless, that a similar problem occured on your friends 1066, I fear that there is something that has to be addressed by Rotel here.
     
  12. RichardMA

    RichardMA Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  13. Michael Mathius

    Michael Mathius Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2000
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    I have been thinking of getting a Rotel 1066 but like John the video switching capability is very important to me. My tv just doesn't have the amount of component inputs I need. I don't see how anyone can think that this is asking too much from Rotel or from any other manufacturer for that matter.

    It's too bad that some manufacturers over look this feature especially with hdstb and play stations becoming so common in home theaters today.

    Since I use optical and coaxial to connect my dvd,tivo,hdstb,and cd the audio analog inputs are useless to me. I would also like to see fewer video composite inputs on receivers since I think most of us are now using s-video and components.

    It may look nice to have many inputs on the back of receiver,but what use is it to me if I will never use them.

    Just my .02
     
  14. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've never seen this on my 1066 or 1055 during movies. My pronto turns off my TV when ever I select an audio input but I'll try the audio to video and see what happens tonight. Also there's a new firmware available (1.45) that I put on my website that could help...no promises though since I think this one is to address the user settings issue.
     
  15. JohnKE

    JohnKE Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  16. JohnKE

    JohnKE Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  17. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    John I run my VCR and DVD player though my 1066/1055 with s-video and haven't seen it yet on any movie. I justed tried switching from CD to DVD and VCR and back and I only see a very brief white area on the top and bottom when switching to a video mode from audio but it only lasts a fraction of a second and isn't a concern at all. I then poped in 5th E and tried the scene you speak of above and again it looks solid to me. I'm now using the 1055 as a pre amp instead of the 1066 but I don't recall the 1066 behaving any differently. For what its worth I'm using a Sony 7700 DVD player connected to the 1055 with AR s-video cables which then go to the monitor with AR s-video. The TV is a 50" analog Toshiba RPTV.
     
  18. JohnKE

    JohnKE Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Andrew - I'm using the following:

    Toshiba SD-4800 DVD/CD/DVD-A (great piece of equipment)
    Ultralink S-Video Cables
    JVC 32" Analog Television (I know, I know...I need to upgrade)

    BUT...like I said before, the problem also manifested itself with very expensive display equipment....

    As an aside I have been playing DVD-A's using the analog inputs and I continue to marvel at the sonic performance of my Rotel.
     
  19. JohnKE

    JohnKE Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got a reply from Mike Sheehan At Equity Audio...

    Dear John,

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I will investigate the matter
    further here and see if we can recreate the circumstances you have described
    and determine what can be done to resolve your problem. Please be patient
    while this matter is looked into and an appropriate resolution can be found.

    Best Regards,
    Mike Sheehan
    Customer Support Specialist

    I'll be interested to see if they can duplicate the issue and, if so, what the answer will be...
     
  20. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Keep us posted john.
     

Share This Page