Rotel RB 985 mkII

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Robert_Z, Feb 8, 2003.

1. Robert_Z

Robert_Z Screenwriter

Is this a good 5-channel power amp? Anyone use it? I am considering using my Denon 3802 as a preamp only and using the Rotel for power. But I wonder if the Rotel will actually sound better. They both have about the same watt rating. I would be buying online, so I cannot audition to hear the difference.

Also, what does mkII mean?:b

2. Daneel

Daneel Stunt Coordinator

mkII means mark 2, as in the 2nd version. From what I can tell this model was replaced with the 1075 and is supposed to be pretty good.

From Rotel's website:

RB985MKII 5 x 110W, THX, balanced outs 1998 $999

As to whether it will improve on your Denon 3802, I will leave that for someone else as I have no experience with the 3802.

3. BrentPollard

BrentPollard Second Unit

I have the MKI and it is a great product. I also can't speak to the Denon issue, but it made quite a big difference when I hooked it to my Sony 900ES Dolby ProLogic receiver. I have since purchased the Rotel RSP 1066 which I have mated with the RB985. No matter which power amp you decide on I would recommend one as it gives you the flexibility to move to true separates down the road. I think if you do a search for using a power amp with receiver you will find almost unanimous agreement that adding a separate amp is a good thing. [​IMG]

4. Gianni

Gianni Agent

Robert,

I recently read an article on one of these two sites--either eCoustics.com or audioholics.com. One of the professional reviewers was evaluating a Denon 4802. As a part of the evaluation he also tested the 4802 with an external amp. He reported an improvement in sound using the external amp and also praised the 4802's preamp abilities.