What's new

Rotel, Lexicon, or Meridian (1 Viewer)

Vicky

Agent
Hi I am just getting into home theater. I've been visiting my local audio dealers and am getting a massive overload of information on receivers. I think I've got it narrowed down to the three mentioned in the subject line. I was wondering if anyone on this thread has had any experience or any input on these receivers.

Rich Wenzel

Supporting Actor
well, i would think most people would say rotel is significantly lower brand and cheaper than lexicon and meridian

the lexicon is made by harmaninternational, the makers of proceed, mark levinson, madrigal, revel, lexicon, H&K, infinity, jbl and many others....

meridian are very upgradeable...

lexicon and meridian are out of my league, so i wont comment too much, but i have to wonder how you came up with those three. I can see comparing lexicon and meridian, cause they roughly compete at the same price points, but rotel is much cheaper, note i am not saying its bad stuff (i have 2 rotel pieces), but its out of its league in this comparison.

Rich

DanielSmi

Second Unit
Also as far as I know Lexicon and Meridian don't make receivers. meridian is more expensive than Lexicon, they have dvd players that cost more than cars. Quality wise lexican and meridian would be way better than rotel not that rotel is bad but it doesn't compare to those two. Lexicon is like a Porcshe or Lotus, whileMeridian is like a Lambourghini, and rotel is like a 30,000 dollar car. Something kindof like that yeah because Meridian components can cost more than 10 times as mush as a Rotel component.

Daniel Smith

Andrew Pratt

Senior HTF Member
The new Rotel 1098 pre pro looks like it might compete better with the lexicons but its only just being released (see other thread on it)

Rob Rodier

Supporting Actor