What's new

Rope lighting 'within' moulding? (1 Viewer)

John G

Agent
I was considering some rope lighting that would 'outline' the 'top rectangle' of my trey ceiling (the red line in the pic). Correct me if i'm wrong, but isn't there moulding that 'incorporates' a space for rope lighting that would allow me to get the desired effect? Or if not, how might i go about this?

Steve Lucas

Stunt Coordinator
Have you seen "Glow tape" I'm not sure if that's the right name, but it is applied flat like a tape, but when you turn it on it glows like neon.

Steve

Tom.Smith

Auditioning
There is no moulding with built in lighting. What you have to do is frame out a channel with moulding for the rope lighting to lay in. It would in sense be a gutter that it would sit in. Then you would need a switched outlet that could be hidden behind the moulding. As an electrical contractor i have done this many times.

hope this helps
Tom

John G

Agent
yeah guess i should clarify...im wondering about molding that is perhaps 'pre-cut' for rope lighting or something of the sort - i suppose like a gutter as you explained Tom..thanks.

Steve - looked around for the 'glow tape' that you mentioned with no avail...you say it's electrical? Perhaps something like a really flat rope light? That would be worth looking into if we could figure out what its called :p

This is the look that i'm going for more or less, which looking at it now, brings up another question..if this were to be done, wouldn't the 'gap' between moulding and ceiling look a bit funny when unlit?

Steve Lucas

Stunt Coordinator
The tape I'm thinking of is an electro-luminescent plastic. When an electrical current is applied, it glows just like neon. It comes in almost any color and is as flat as um...tape. I'll look around some today to see if I can find it.

MikeWh

Second Unit
wouldn't the 'gap' between moulding and ceiling look a bit funny when unlit?