1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Room Mode/Screen Size

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Articfox918, Dec 1, 2017.

Tags:
  1. 1 Dec 1, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2017
    Articfox918

Articfox918 Auditioning

Jamie
    I'm very new to the whole HT scene but I have been frantically researching as I get ready to build. A little background before I ask my question. I will be working with a completely blank slate in the basement so I have nearly every option under the sun available to me. I have a rough idea of my room which will be 24' X 14' X 8.5' I refuse to start building until I have a firm grasp on what I am going to do. I have been researching like mad and I know Screen size is not based off of what space you have but rather where you are siting. During my research I stumbled across a Room Mode calculator by Harman. I entered my room data and here is what the tool spit back at me.

[​IMG]
    So my question is can someone shed a bit more light on this for me. If I am reading and doing it right I should have my seating at about 12' which would be dead center of the room, correct? I plan on having 2 rows of 4 seats with a bar behind the back row of seats. If my above statement is correct do I split the difference between seat locations? Does it matter? Or do I only worry about where the person using the theater all the time(ME:3dglasses:) will be sitting most of the time?

Attached Files:

2. Stephen_J_H

Stephen_J_H All Things Film Junkie

Stephen J. Hill
    This seems to only be acoustic calculations, which are definitely a consideration, but there are other questions that are more pertinent to the home theatre elements.
    1. Screen size--if your front wall is 14' wide by 8.5' high, how big of screen are you wanting to install?