What's new

Rookie needs sub help. (1 Viewer)

I have been following the Subsonic 6i thread with much enthusiasm. I have been intrigued for some time with the Subsonic 6i due to the review by TN in S&V. I am currently without a sub and will be looking to get one next month. The room I will be using the sub in is quite different from the smaller room that James Edward has. It is 16x19x10 with openings in every corner and extends into the kitchen 13x19x10. The kitchen is the only room that has a closed corner and is not an option for sub placement. I have thick carpet and big leather couches in the family room. I have smaller satellites Dyn 42's to blend with. My choices for a sub are the VTF-3, one of the 12 inch SVS subs, and the PSB Subsonic 6i. I feel I will need a sub that can produce plenty of spl. The subsonic 6i sounds like an awesome sub but will it be enough for my open room?

I am a rookie to HT and my wife is not as sympathetic to my new found obsession. Ordering the subs one by one may be a little hard for the home life.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

steve nn

Senior HTF Member
I am a rookie to HT and my wife is not as sympathetic to my new found obsession. Ordering the subs one by one may be a little hard for the home life.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
__________________________________________________ _____

Do it good and right the first time and get it over with. If your going to have a tiff with the wife? You might as well have it over a sub that will serve you long term and serve you well.

If you go the SVS rout, one good suggestion would be the SVS PB12-Plus/2. New finishes will be available in the future also.

Ralph B

Supporting Actor
steve is right. your wife will get over it. here is a funny story.......