What's new

RIP Harlan Ellison 1934-2018 (1 Viewer)

Hollywoodaholic

Edge of Glory?
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Sad day for science fiction with this transition. What a force.

I was an early fan, particularly of his collection of short stories, "Dangerous Visions," and, or course of his contributions to The Outer Limits ("Demon with the Glass Hand," "Soldier"), and Star Trek ("The City on the Edge of Forever".)

Despite living and working in LA near two decades as a writer, I never sought to meet him (as I did Ray Bradbury), but did encounter him once... memorably.

I was in a car behind a truck stopped at a light on Doheny Drive. And the burly truck driver casually spits tobacco out his driver window... and it lands squarely on the hood of a classic '66 Mustang waiting at the traffic light beside it.

Out of the Mustang jumps the most heated and outraged small pitbull of a human being you could ever imagine, practically spitting with rage himself, screaming and rushing over to confront the driver of the truck that maligned his precious Mustang.

I couldn't believe my eyes... that little pitbull of a human being was none other than Harlan Ellison, and he was physically confronting a truck driver nearly twice his size in a primal road rage moment.

Luckily, for Harlan, the truck driver basically ignored him, looking down from his driver window like a nagging mosquito was buzzing his ears, and he simply drove away as the light changed.

Harlan stood around fuming in the space he vacated for several more moments before returning to his prized classic Mustang and driving off himself.

But what I had always heard and suspected about the writer was confirmed for me that day. He was a force of nature and volatility (and creativity) not to be fucked with. I have the documentary on him that's called Dreams with Sharp Teeth. I thank him profusely for sharing some of those dreams with us over the years.