Richard & Linda Thompson Shoot Out The Lights-My favorite pop SACD

Discussion in 'Music' started by Lee Scoggins, Jun 10, 2004.

1. Lee Scoggins

Lee Scoggins Producer

Lee
    I am completely new to these fine musicians. I remember Stereophile raving about Richard's "The Old Kit Bag" but I was not prepared for such a finely crafted, near perfect pop/rock/folk (?) recording.

The sonics are stellar, even the Red Book sounds good. Guitar and vocals are superbly recorded and there is just some great songs on this album about the couple's breakup.

I highly recommend this if you like guitar music at all or are a fan of these two superb musician's.

I am left wondering "where have I been?"...and "why are these guys not better known?"

2. Angelo.M

Angelo.M Producer

Richard and Linda Thompson, and their stellar album, are quite well known in the right circles, Lee. :wink: The sound of the album, as you allude to, is the sound of a couple breaking up.

Glad you discovered this gem. I have always dug "Wall of Death."

3. Lee Scoggins

Lee Scoggins Producer

Lee
    I think they are critics darlings but less well know by the public. Maybe the new SACD will raise awareness. [​IMG]

4. Craig S

Craig S Producer

Craig Seanor
    This is one of those albums I have heard about for a long time yet have never actually heard. I had no idea it was coming out on SACD. I will definitely have to pick it up.

What label is it on??

5. Lee Scoggins

Lee Scoggins Producer

Lee

Interestingly enough, it is the first SACD release by Rykodisc. [​IMG]

6. Lee Scoggins

Lee Scoggins Producer

Lee
  7. JordanS

JordanS Second Unit

I love the song "Dimming of the Day."

David Gilmour did a cover of it on his "In Concert" DVD that was fantastic.[​IMG]

8. Rob M.

Rob M. Stunt Coordinator