Richard Gray products

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Robert D, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. Robert D

    Robert D Extra

    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,
    Can anyone give some info on Richard Gray products. Specifically the RGPC 600S. Thanks in advance
     
  2. Phil A

    Phil A Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    I have a couple of 400 units. I think with those type of things the biggest bang for the buck if you can do it is put in separate circuits grounded separately from the rest of the house and use better quality receptacles. What many power conditioners do as part of their job anything is to create parallel circuits. I like the unit and also have a Vansevers and a PS audio ultimate outlet. I've found that they can subtly improve video and audio in my particular situation. They may do more or less in other depending on the quality of what is being delivered to your house.
     
  3. Robert D

    Robert D Extra

    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello
    Thanks for your reply Phil.
    I should of put my equipment list in, so Ill do it now.
    3 Krell Kav amps
    Lexicon MC-8 processor
    Lexicon RT-10 dvd player
    Velodyne DD15 woofer
    Pioneer Elite 710 tv
    sony dish receiver
    B&W Nautilus speakers

    I also put in a 30 amp dedicated line.
    Does anyone think the RGPC 600s will help in any way.
    Thanks again.
    Rob
     
  4. Phil A

    Phil A Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    Rob, it's really hard to say what it will do w/o knowing the condition of the power delivered. You may want to test the output voltage with a multi-meter to see if there are deviations from 120. I bought my RGPCs used. I would not use the amps in the conditioner. I have a separate 20 amp line in additon to what else goes into the familiy room of the main system. I just asked for a separate circuit and the morons put a 20 amp circuit in but only used std. 14 ga. wire to the box and put a 15 amp receptacle on it which I changed. So there is more than just the breaker they put in. 14 ga. will pass 15 amps of current or about 1800W worth of consumption from my very basic understanding. 12 ga. will pass 20 amps of current.

    My main amp (Bryston 14BSST) is the only thing plugged into that circuit. My proj. (Sharp 9000) is plugged into a PS Audio ultimate outlet. My other amp for the center and surrounds is a Bryston 6BSST and I have a Marantz mono block for the seldom used rear center.

    The rest of my main system (I have a bedroom and a basement one too - have B&W P6s as mains in the basement) includes:

    Bryston SP 1.7 pre/pro
    Pioneer Elite CD-R
    Rotel RDV-1060 DVD-V/DVD-A
    Samsung HD Tuner
    Philips DVD Recorder
    Pioneer Elite LD Player
    Lexicon RF Demod,
    Modwright Absolute Truth Mod to XA-777ES
    Sony TA-P9000ES (for level controls and switching hi-rez)
    Vansevers Ref. PLC configured for all dig. devices)
    Thiel Speakers, 7.2s as the left and right
    2 Rel Storm III subs for stereo and ".1"
    a Rel Q150 on the center - mainly for M/C music
    a Rel Strata III on the rears - mainly for M/C music

    My preamp is plugged into one RG unit which is plugged into
    another RG unit on the other side of the wall for the bedroom system. My XA-777ES is in the Vansevers unit which has outlets config. in banks of 2 for isolation.

    I think those type of things can make a difference in a better system, but won't be your biggest bang for the buck. I have room treatments too, which is most often overlooked. Have you done any analysis of the system from the listening spot with an RTA? If not, do you have a SPL meter and a test disc? With those type things, it is often best to get an audition. Yes, I've done everything crazy that a sick audiophile does from power cords to interconnects too (make my own). So my recommendation would be to check what you can on room problems and voltage swings (keep a log at different times and days tested) and see if you can get a trial or get someone who lives nearby to lend you one for several days. There made subtle improvements to my system but compared to eveything else for my circumstances would be towards the bottom of the list or priorites and of the components you have the video stuff and the Lexicon stuff would seem to be the candidates for any potential improvement.
     
  5. ChristopherDAC

    ChristopherDAC Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One proviso:
    The National Electrical Code specifies ONE ground point for everything in the house: power, television antennas, cable hookup, lightning rods, you name it.
    If you use multiple ground points you may be letting yourself in for a world of grief via ground loops; in the extreme case ground currents can grow so large as to destroy your equipment and even burn down your house. The only case in which I would even consider using multiple earth grounds is one in which the HT equipment is TOTALLY PHYSICALLY ISOLATED from everything else in the home, a rather unlikely condition.
     

Share This Page