RGBHV output and 720p resolution. Dream or reality?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Joel Tougas, Jul 20, 2005.

1. Joel Tougas

Joel Tougas Auditioning

Hi all,

I just bought an old Sony CRT projector which takes only RGBHV (5 BNC plugs) as video input.

I would like to buy a DVD player which outputs video signal via RGBHV. Does that exist?

If it exists, do you have any suggestion to do for a DVD player that would:
    - Output in RGBHV
    - Be under 200$US
    - Output video with a resolution of 720p or 1080i .

If it doesn't exist, what can i do to connect a DVD player to my CRT projector?

I'm a total newbie to the world of HT so every single piece of information will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot!
    Joel

2. ChristopherDAC

ChristopherDAC Producer

RGBHV outputs are not a problem; if nothing else, you can break out the 5 connectors from one VGA connector on your home computer monitor port. Now, since the DVD Forum has banned resolutions higher than 480p without HDCP, you're stuck if you want 720p or 1080i from a DVD player. Your best bet would be either a computer software package, allowing you to play a DVD and scale it to a custom resolution, or a scaler such as the DVDO iScan taking component inputs and putting out [if you set it up correctly] RGBHV through a VGA breakout cable. With a separate scaler and player, though, you're going to have a very hard time coming in at your price point.

3. Tony Kwong

Tony Kwong Supporting Actor

You might want to ckeck out a momitsu DVD player with a VGA port. You can do a lot of custom resolution timings as well as upscale with it to 1080i/720p/960p, etc. All you need is a VGA break out cable (normally HD15 to 5BNC).

Another way of going is to get a Component to RGBHV transcoder. That way you can input compnent source and get RGBHV out to the PJ.

Since you didnt mention it, does you PJ have a - or + sync? That could determine what other things you need.

4. Joel Tougas

Joel Tougas Auditioning