RGB component and DB15 YPbPr philips HDTV help..

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Dave_vega, Mar 10, 2004.

  1. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am all set to grab a Philips HDTV 46" TV and have one big problem with it..it has 2 HD inputs, but one of them is a DB15 connector..now I want to hook up my xbox and a progressive scan DVD player..I found this cable searching the internet and it makes note of



    my HDTV states it has sync on green..can I use this cable for my dvd player and the component inputs for my xbox?

    thanks for the help..
     
  2. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm assuming that the VGA/DB15 input is RGB, you'll need a transcoder if you want to use that input. RGB is not the same as component.
     
  3. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well in the manual it states that both HD inputs, the component and the DB15 input, were switchable..you could switch either input to RGB or YPbPr..so I would just have to switch both inputs to YPbPr? what is RGB? thanks
     
  4. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What *exactly* does it say in the manual?

    It sounds like either it can take some sort of component input on the VGA plug, or it is saying you can switch between the VGA input for RGB, or a separate component RCA input for component ypbpr?

    I know some digital projectors can take component input on VGA input. This might be a similar situation, in which case you might need just an adapter cable.

    If it is only taking RGB on the VGA input, then you'll need a transcoder.
     
  5. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    chris in the manual it states that you can switch each HD input to either RGB or YPbPr..the component cables are defaulted to YPbPr and the VGA is defaulted to RGB, but it shows you that you just have to hit the menu key and switch the HD input from RGB to YPbPr..here is the actual manual if you have time to take a look..it's on page 59..thanks man
     
  7. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the manual link, that makes things much easier.

    Page one says that it accepts both component and RGBhv on the VGA input. Page 59 looks like you can tell it what you are inputting.

    If you look at the component input, it actually has 5 rca ins, you use three if you are using component, or 5 for RGBhv. That's actually quite nice for a consumer set, most dont have RGB inputs.

    And it also shows that you can input component via the VGA plug.

    So you can input either in both places. You may need an adapter cable, though, if both your sources use regular 3xRCA outputs instead of a VGA plug, or vice versa.
     
  8. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok cool thanks chris..I just wanted to make sure I didn't buy the adapter cable for nothing..
     

Share This Page