What's new

RF/IR Universal Remote (1 Viewer)

matt2805

Auditioning
Real Name
Matthew
I am fairly new to home theater universal remote setups and I would like your help with selecting the best system to purchase. I have home theater components in three different rooms (see below) and would like your opinion on which universal remote system to purchase (budget is not an issue). I have seen that many systems require a dealer license, which I do not have. I am technically savvy with most of the home theater equipment and do not want to have a dealer come install or program the remote every time I add a new component to the system.

Living Room:
Samsung 60" Smart TV
Speakers/Subwoofer

Bedroom:
Samsung 42" Smart TV

Closet:
Onkyo NR-626 Receiver
Samsung Blu-Ray Player
Verizon FiOS Cable Box

The speakers are hard wired through the walls from the living room to the receiver in the closet. I have HDMI and RJ-45 CAT 5 cables running through the walls from the closet to the living room and bedroom (behind each TV). There are two RJ-45 cables in each room - one for Internet access for the smart TV and the other dedicated for a universal remote system. The Blu-Ray Player and FiOS Cable Box are connected by HDMI to the receiver in the closet and then the receiver is connected by HDMI to the both TVs. The Cable Box is only used with the TV in the living room, but I believe I can set up the receiver to output the Blu-Ray Player to either the living room or the bedroom - haven't tried this yet. The equipment is the closet cannot be reached by IR, so I need an RF solution. Which universal remote equipment would you recommend that I purchase? I would like to set up either one system that has two remotes (one for bedroom and one for living room) or two separate systems. I would also like a system that I can download software for and program with a computer connected to the remote(s). An iOS app would be a nice addition, but is not required. Any help would be greatly appreciated.