What's new

Review of 49tx with Anthem MCA30 Amp (1 Viewer)

Howard_S

Supporting Actor
I wasn't thinking of actually posting a review since I'm quite new to all this myself but there were some requests so I figure I'll just pop in and share some of my experiences. Here's my setup.

Paradigm Studios all around
Studio 60s V.1 (fronts
CC450
Studio ADPs
Servo 15
Studio 20s V.2 (rear centers)
Sony SCDC 555ES
Pioneer Elite 49tx
Anthem MCA30 (audition)

First off for those who are wondering whether adding an amp to the 49tx makes a difference... the answer is YES! Adding an amp that is better than the 49tx's amp section to the 49tx improves the 49tx sound even more. I haven't had much experience with amps and preamps so I can't give any comparisons but as great as the 49tx, as many owners would tell you, it's even better as a prepro.

With that settled I mainly played great recordings. Diana Krall, Opus 3 SACD, Yo Yo Ma SACD, and other jazz instrumental stuff such as Miles, Coltrane etc. Movie wise I watched all of Jurassic Park III and A Bugs Life.

Improvements mainly come from clarity. I firmly believe that the only reason anyone would think the AVM20 would sound better than the 49tx is because of the amp the AVM20 is often mated to. As much as I love the 49tx, the sound could be cleaned up a bit. The MCA30 has ample power and definitely sounded less strained than the 49tx at loud levels. It runs pretty hot but it's extremely quiet.

With the amp I really noticed the backgroud music. The harmony behind the main vocal part for example seems more noticible. The separation of instrument is improved. The music is revealed to you. You really find yourself enjoying the music more listening to the harmony behind the singer or soloist.