Request Feedback on: Learning Remote Touch Screen & Hard Buttons

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Kyle Tippett, Apr 2, 2003.

  1. Kyle Tippett

    Kyle Tippett Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am looking for a very nice a/v learning remote with a touch screen and learning hard buttons. Max price: $600.
    Dark colours preffered, but not essential. Thank you.
    Looking at, DENON, Pronto, but still looking around.
    I like the look of the MX-1000, anyone used it??
     
  2. Chuck Kent

    Chuck Kent Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 29, 1999
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kyle: I'm a pretty big Home Theater Master booster (I own 2 MX-500's and an MX-700. Just great remotes!) So are many others over at the HTM forum at remotecentral.com. But the MX-1000 is not well thought of by any of us. HTM had PC program problems that they never really ironed out and they have recently announced that they will not be doing anymore updates to the MX-1000's programing. So, the MX-1000 is a BIG buyer beware. If you want to inferface it to your PC, it's quite likely you'll have troubles...(I guess it does ok by itself but that means probably no PC backups.)

    I guess HTM is working on some touchscreen ideas but their focus for now is button-based (which is my own personal preference.)
     
  3. MikeSRC

    MikeSRC Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can get a Pronto Pro TSU6000 for a few dollars more than $600, or, if having a color screen's not a must, a TSU3000 for less than half the price. For $100 more you could have RF capability as well. Home Theater Master is working on a touchscreen model but it won't be out until later this year.

    I wouldn't bother with the Denon Atkis remote. It's very limited compared to a Pronto.

    As Chuck said, the MX-1000 has some software issues (although it's fully programmable without the software) but works well within its limitations. It will likely be replaced toward the end of this year.
     
  4. John Sully

    John Sully Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 1999
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm a big Pronto fan, have been since they came out in late '98. I'm currently using a TSU 3000 (just have to have the latest and greatest) and it is a good improvement over the original. The 16 shades of grey screen is easier to read and the touchscreen is more sensitive than the original one. The extra hard buttons are handy and most devices can be compressed down to one screen, which makes it nice and easy to use.

    There are some issues still with the firmware, with some people reporting speed problems although I have not noticed them myself. Also two of the hard buttons are not available for programming with the current revision of the firmware, a fix is promised real soon now. Overall, the 3000 is a nice remote and will probably get better with time -- for example Philips promises state variables in a future software revision, this will be real cool.
     
  5. Jeff Bamberger

    Jeff Bamberger Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Pronto 1000 nd love it, so I can only assume that the 3000 or the Pro would be awesome units.
     
  6. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2 Year Pronto Pro user (TSU6000) and I wouldn't go back
    to a non color LCD for anything!

    If you can live with a full LCD with not many hard buttons
    then the Pronto line is for you. Some prefer hard buttons
    I am not one of those people buf if I were I would buy the
    HTM MX500
     
  7. Kyle Tippett

    Kyle Tippett Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But does the colour significantly kill the battery? I had said earlier that i liked the style of the htm mx1000.. got some neg. FB on that, so looked away.. what about the pronto neo... that looks pretty sweet too... plus... the marantz line started to kinda steal my heart a bit yesterday... is the ware on them the same as all the prontos, or just specific ones?
     
  8. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The battery in my Pronto Pro lasts me a whole day of useage
    I have my screen brightness set at 75% and I have the LCD
    Timer set to 60 seconds.

    The lower the brightness level the longer the charge will
    last, but I place my Pro on the cradle every night so dead
    batteries are rarely an issue and if they go dead it takes
    about 10 minutes charge time to get it in shape for another
    couple hours use [​IMG]
     
  9. Joe Cole

    Joe Cole Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 1999
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    John,

    Since you have a model 3000 do you know if the model 2000's docking station will work for the 3000?

    Having to buy a new docking station if I upgrade from my 2000 is a little annoying. Surely they could use the same charging circuits in the new model.
     
  10. Mike OConnell

    Mike OConnell Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 1999
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park KS
    Real Name:
    Mike
    The 2000 docking station will not work with the 3000.

    Mike
     
  11. MikeSRC

    MikeSRC Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, the DS3000 docking station is different than the TSU6000's docking station, even though they are similar in appearance. The connector on the DS3000, while the same as the 6000, is offset from center. With all the problems Philips had with the DS1000 used with the TSU2000, it's not surprising that they changed it for the 3000.
     

Share This Page