1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Replay won't download

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Camp, Jul 9, 2003.

  1. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I inadvertantly unplugged my ReplayTV from the Ethernet connection for about 3 days. I noticed my error yesterday so I plugged it back in hoping it would do the nightly download to refresh the guide.

    Well, it didn't do it. I checked and the connection settings are all fine -it just didn't try. Is there any way I can "force" it to connect and download the Guide data?
     
  2. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,788
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Have you tried the "2-4-3" "Zone" trick to get to the menu that will allow you to force a channel guide update?

    Just punch in 2-4-3 and "Zone" to bring up the menu, and choose the Net Connect selection.

    I do this on my older Showstopper ReplayTVs, but I think it's the same with the 5xxx series.
     
  3. John_Williams

    John_Williams Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The 243 Zone menu is the way to go for the 5000 series also. I just had to do this the other day[​IMG]
     
  4. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What is a 243 Zone menu?
     
  5. Gabriel_Lam

    Gabriel_Lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Press 2
    Press 4
    Press 3
    Press Zone
     
  6. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh, that seems intuitive enough. Thanks...I'll give that a shot.
     
  7. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks guys! That did it. The force download from the 243 Zone menu didn't work at first but the option to "clear channel guide" rebooted the system. That, followed by a forced-download seems to have done the trick.

    Good to have a forum to turn to for knowledgeable help.
     

Share This Page